Another weekend, another prompt over at GreatNewReads.

Todays’s task reads: Welcome to Day 07 of the #BookReviewBlogChallenge. It is amazing how fast time flew and we are almost at the end of the competition! So, the theme “Time” for today’s challenge ties in quite nicely!

For today’s prompt I was sorely torn between Laura Vanderkam‘s book Off the Clock, her other bestseller I Know How She does It and my current read Diary of A SAHM by Jess Newman.

The first two are related to time management while the last is a recount of a mother’s days – it has some wonderful recall of everyday experiences. But how it was amazing was the vulnerable reflection on how things always seem worse in the moment but much better and far less severe once it is firmly in the past.

Since I still have a few chapter left of above shown book and I have already reviewed the first, I decided to go with Off the Clock.

Do check out the author’s website for the book for some excellent videos: https://lauravanderkam.com/books/off-the-clock/

Rating:

5 out of 5

Review:

This is a fabulous book on learning how to expand time. Essentially you are learning how to leverage the Theory Of Relativity.Given the times we are in, cooped up most of the time, straining under the worry of the COVID19 and bristling with the classic ‘familiarity breeds contempt’ feeling, the book offers are wonderful tips to cope.

I don’t want to share spoilers but I was blown away by the present and future self concept. So cool and effective.

In a nutshell the book teaches readers to become aware of their time, learn how to manage time better and understand how to savor time better by strategizing and mindfulness.

Practical Application:

I, for one, am totally using the planning trick to infuse excitement and increase enjoyment for the kiddo. Being an extrovert social child, she simply is getting stressed at not being able to meet her friends and playmates. With me caring for the LO too, it’s just hard sometimes. So, we have been looking forward to our weekly Escape Room sessions.

I am totally planning to add something during the week as well – that will help me plan for the coming of summer!!! No schoolwork to help me keep her engaged then! (Pausing to reassure slightly panicked self)

If you raised eyebrows at the Escape Room, then check out the link from Whatsupmoms here. What a fabulous tip! Use it as a guide and just set it based on your child’s age, preferences and sensibilities.

And yes, the irony of looking forward to being locked up during Lockdown is not lost on me! Reframe it as looking forward to:

  • escaping from the fun locked room by solving clues
  • the grim realities of present
  • And mostly the monotony of what life has become.

Thinking about it all week long is satisfying for both kiddo and me. Her, because she spends about three days gloating over her escape with all and sundry (over video) and another three trying to get hints and clues and reminding me to set up the next one. Me because I get to see her happy and float in her prowess and rack my brains to set a newer, more challenging, fancier one. (Okay, not fancier. Definitely not fancier)

How’s that for making your time memorable and being Off the Clock?!

I loved the book and recommend it highly.

P.S.: This post might read more of a personal experience than a review . But that is the point I am trying to make. You can use the concepts in the book to make your own everyday life feel like a grand adventure. That’s how we gain time and make memories to last forever!