This post is the response to Day4 or the fourth prompt of the #BookReviewChallenge I joined.

Today’s instructions are:

Welcome to Day 04 of #BookReviewBlogChallenge. Today’s prompt is “Family”. Any book that reminds you of strong family ties will suffice for today’s challenge.

The book that I will answer it with is Julia Quinn’s book The Duke and I.

My rating is 5 /5 stars.

Review-

There’s something about that pink cover, the cute illustrations, the title and the review from Time Magazine, no less, that drew me to the book. (I think this particular cover is the best version of all for this title!)

I had just finished college and was looking for titles and authors to add to my reading list. If the book cover hooked me, the book blurb reeled me in.

And when I read the book, I was a lifelong fan. From page 1 itself. If you find it hard to believe, please read the excerpt of her latest on her website.

Characters-
The characters are amazing- they are not perfect, but they are lovable because of their quirks and foibles.

I love this one because it has all the eight Bridgerton kids and their amazing mother.

The interactions, squabbles, dialogs between the different characters show a range of genuine relationships that exist in any family.

  • Sibling spats- check.
  • Parent- child love hate equation- check.
  • Missing a loved one- check.
  • Friendship bonds- check.
  • Family outings , meals and the triumphs and troubles that are invariably a part of it- check.
  • Seeking love and approval of your parents- check.
  • Growing up- check.
  • Social approval and everyone tussle with being ourselves yet conforming – check.

If these pointers do not spell Family- nothing will.

Scenes-

Without giving away spoilers, I can safely say; look out for these cutesy/ amusing scenes in the book-

  • The hero’s Redemption
  • Ballroom scenes with the Bridgerton siblings and mother (oh, those dialogs!)
  • The heroine standing up for her love
  • Lady Whistledown (she’s introduced in this timeline)
Story-

And no, I have not given away the story. The scenes above are typical of most love stories.

The exact plot of all romances can be whittled down to any of the seven plots that storytellers use.

So, what makes this novel different?

The narrative- it’s crisp and compelling. Set in old England, it’s got enough details to paint a picture of the period but enough of well fleshed characters to keep you engrossed in the story itself.

The dialogs are amusing, witty and snarky too! While the language is of those times, the emotions are evergreen.

Notes:

I have to state, the book is 18+ with a few ahem, episodes of marital nature. What’s a few pages in a 300+ novel?

So, what do you think? If you have read the book, does my review concur with yours? Did you like the book? Either way, let me know in the comments below.

For those who did not read, Will you? And if you do, would you then agree with my review? Share your views.

Also, check the blog review challenge this is part of here.

#BookReviewBlogChallenge