Tags

, , , , ,

In this post, I list my thoughts on the winter holidays:

  • Winter means cold! Brrr! In fact, Chicago was colder than Mars yesterday! 😳
  • Winter also means time for loads of Baking. This year I am excited because T has grasped the concept of being slow and deliberate while measuring and pouring ingredients. So, lots of Mommy-Child moments anticipated. Hurrah!
  • No school. Sad for T as she misses her class. A little tense for me as I feel worried I won’t be stimulating T as much as in school and so on. But then, I tell myself T is on a break. So, never mind. Plus, I can teach her how to have fun no matter what! 🤓
  • Holiday cheer and decorations everywhere. Lights, figurines, treats, trees, Santas, bells- hard not to be infected with the holiday spirit in the midst of all these.
  • Games Galore- T and I now have time for large project and long games.while she’s only in preschool, the activities involved in getting ready, the actual trip, the hours of school and then getting back meant a full half day. Coupled with time consuming activities like meals and naps (he he!) and study time; long projects are reserved for Fridays. (Half days at school). But for the current fortnight, everyday is Friday! Yahoo!
  • While writing the above point, I was just struck with an important realization. No need to goad a reluctant T to get ready and quick for two whole weeks. That is awesome!
  • New Year plans. Ours is a simple potluck with close friends. Nothing dramatic: but small, intimate gatherings are simply the best! I love them because I actually know everyone at such dos and can be my usual self as can T. Besides, everyone helps with minding the kids even during games. (Unlike bigger events where you have to mind your own kids and hope to hang out with other parents. While not bad, not as amazing as smaller parties)
  • Resolutions. Okay, I make simple, doable ones. Sometimes I still don’t achieve them. But taking stock of your lives and striving to be better is empowering. New Year resolutions are a perfect time reflect and inspect without guilt, inhibitions, fears, or judgement. I believe even if my resolutions are broken, at least I know my goals and the direction I want to head. 

Hmmm… I meant this to be a short post. But it’s become a long list. Staying indoors is conducive to introspection!

Stay warm and spread the cheer!

