Tags

,

Ok. I have been meaning to read this book since a long time but what with a young baby grappling for my attention and plenty of book lovers battling for the same book, it was hard to get my greedy hands on a copy. I finally received this book from the library after what seemed like ages (there was a HUGE queue for checking this book out).

And the verdict is the same as many of Sheryl Sandberg’s fans and followers. It is an amazing book. I loved the plain speaking, the honest accounts and  the many apt similes. My favorite is the one on office politics: “walking in a minefield, backwards with high heels on”.

I took some great take-aways from the book: memorable of which are: (not necessarily in the order as in the book):

  1. Done is better than right.
  2. Careers are a jungle gym, not a ladder. -Pattie Sellers
  3. Don’t Leave Before You Leave
  4. True equality will be achieved only when we ALL fight the stereotypes that hold us back.
  5. Excel and you will get a mentor.
  6. What would you do if you weren’t afraid? Go do it!
  7. Opportunities are rarely offered; they’re seized.
  8. Think personally, act communally.

I completely related to the parts about the impostor syndrome and the self confidence gap that prevent women from ‘sitting at the table’. Been there, done that, felt the futility and silliness of it all. I also loved the end of the book that is a prelude to conversations elsewhere about the many issues women face and how we can counter them. The simplicity, authenticity and frankness throughout the book really appealed to me. I am totally recommending this book to my daughter when she grows up AND trying to adhere to the basic principles as I raise her (with hopefully no stereotyping or bias).

Have you read the book? What did you like?

