Tags

, ,

Response to the Daily Post Prompt for today:

Pains and Gains

Do you agree with Jane Fonda’s favorite exercise motto, “no pain, no gain?” Is it impossible to attain greatness without considerable hardship?

 

My response to the above would be :

YES! A resounding yes actually. I watched a video recently on TED Talks about Success and the attributes necessary to achieve it. And one of the amazing points mentioned was the ability to persist even in the face of CRAP. CRAP stands for Criticism, Rejection, A*******s (which I’ll replace with Annoying people) and Pressure.

Ponder over this definition of CRAP and I come to the conclusion then, that success does come with effort. Can we be undeterred by negativity? Yes, but only with effort. Can we cease to feel dampened by failures and instead see them as valuable lessons? Sure, but not without hard work. Aren’t annoying people … well, for lack of a kinder adjective, annoying? Yup, but with supreme kindness and practice, we can learn to view them as fresh and different and not unimportant perspective. How about Pressure? Tough to handle those, but by cultivating the right mindset, we can view it as a challenge or even, incentive.

I won’t say, I’ve done all this. I’m still a work in progress. But hey, that’s not what this post is about. I’m just trying to opine that achieving greatness takes time, effort, practice and a questing mind. None of these are easy. It’s not a hardship but it is hard. Definitely not easy. What do you say?

Do watch this video on Success at the TED talks.

